Police, Bureaucrats Picked as Acting Governors


Home Affairs Minister Tito Karnavian inaugurated five acting governors on Thursday. They replace governors whose terms end in mid-May. "I trust you to carry out your duties to the best of your ability according to the responsibilities you have been given," Tito said during the inauguration. The appointment of acting governors is based on Presidential Decree No. 50/P/2022, published on May 9. Here are five interim officials who will hold office until definitive governors are elected in 2024:

  1. Banten regional secretary Al Muktabar replaces Wahidin Halim as the Banten governor.
  2. Mineral and coal director general Ridwan Djamaluddin replaces Erzaldi Rosman Djohan as the Bangka Belitung Islands governor.
  3. Home Affairs Ministry's regional autonomy director-general Akmal Malik replaces Ali Baal Masdar Anwar as the West Sulawesi governor.
  4. Youth and Sports Ministry's sportive culture staff member Hamka Hendra Noer replaces Rusli Habibie as the Gorontalo governor.
  5. Home Affairs Ministry's Deputy for Management of Potential Border Areas at the National Board for Border Management National Police commissioner-general (Ret) Paulus Waterpauw replaces Dominggus Mandacan as the West Papua governor.

Start your free trial.

If you would like to get a 30-day free unlimited access to all of our insights, please click “Start free trial” button below. If you already have an account, please login.

What do subscribers receive?

As a subscriber, you’ll receive daily insights, weekly business digests, and quarterly industrial reports.

What kind of pieces will i get?

In-depth reports on assumption and impact analysis, as well as update and trends mapping, written by our credible and experienced analysts.

And, there is something else…

Enjoy a 30-day free trial, on us. Feel free to contact us with any additional questions you have.